of     1   

Feralidragon
#148809580Wednesday, October 29, 2014 8:15 PM GMT

So, I have quite some suggestions in terms of visual features for Roblox, and it's nothing next-gen nor anything like that, I am talking about very simple visual stuff, some of which was possible to do in games 15 years ago, some others since 10 years ago (more or less), and doesn't really weight more than what we currently have in terms of processing (a lot of this stuff be done purely in the shaders), or so I think from what I have done and learned so far over the years. I have been toying with the studio, but I am still a newbie on it thus if there's anything that was already denied or already exists in some way, apologies in advance. These suggestions are: 1 - Blending types: right now all we have is transparency. It would be really nice if we had blending types such as additive (color + color), difference (color - color), exclusive (color xor color), multiplier (color x color), lighten (brightest color), darken (darkest color) and real alpha channels (meaning a RGB image with an alpha image). 2 - Sprites and vertical sprites: in other words, sheets (single face squares) with a texture always facing the player, or always facing the XY axis of the player (vertical sprite), which could potentially have frames (for explosions, sparks, etc). 3 - Custom textured particle systems: I know the particle systems just came out, but it really strikes me why the particle textures are static, it makes them so limiting for absolutely no reason imho. The ability to define a custom texture for the particle systems is a must imo. 4 - A sheet part: as far as I see there's no sheet part. I guess to make something close to it I would have to have a part with one of its axis set to 0. However doesn't this keep all the polys anyway, or is it smart enough to just render 1 square or 2 triangles? 5 - Custom materials: since custom decals are allowed, materials are basically the same with simply the addition of e