of     1   

Little_Brother
#184134851Monday, February 22, 2016 8:10 AM GMT

Hey guys, I thought I'd start a discussion topic. I'm not much of a game creator, so bare with me. I've been a C programmer for many years, I've since been learning x86 Asm, I'll be fluent in a while. So tell me, how do you justify using such an objectively high level, comparitively useless language such as Lua? I don't mean to offend anyone, but the language is honestly unimpressive. That said, if you'd prefer this thread can also be about x86 Asm or C, which I am very experienced with.
spinywind
#184134880Monday, February 22, 2016 8:12 AM GMT

because its what roblox uses... and this a scripters forum on roblox...
AnonyAnonymous
#184134954Monday, February 22, 2016 8:16 AM GMT

The actual use depends entirely on preference and necessity. If you prefer to manipulate hardware functionality on a more direct level, Assembly/C is excellent to utilize. Nonetheless, the majority of individuals seem to prefer high-level abstraction, which is often much more "accessible" to beginners than low-level instructions. Given the simplicity of Lua, I would not consider it reasonable to compare the language to low/middle languages such as C or Assembly.
mudkip99
#184135993Monday, February 22, 2016 9:24 AM GMT